jump to navigation

OMFG January 24, 2007

Posted by brianna in Verbosity.
trackback

Yay, AirTran

So, this family is on a plane. A small, crowded tube full of people who want to get to their destination just as much as this family does. Yet, the family’s two year old daughter is throwing a tantrum, kicking and screaming and crawling under seats and disturbing other passengers. Delaying the flight.

But the /airline/ is getting bitched at for asking them to leave? If they continue to enforce the ‘no screaming tantrums’ rule, I’ll be sure to book my next ticket with them. (Because I do so much air travel, you know)

People. It is /your job/ to make your toddlers calm the fuck down. Not the airlines to sit back while you try every toy, cuddle, and threat in your head to get Precious to ‘play nice’. And if the flight is delayed and your kid is under my chair and kicking me? Hell. No. Get off. You get to adapt to the situation you are in. We do not have to adapt to you. And if this means you get home later? Too bad, should have thought of that before dragging your kid on that plane. You get your money back and a later flight.

I am /so tired/ of businesses bending over backwards to accommodate behavior like this. Yes, children are not adults. I do expect aberrant behavior from the knee-highs on some occasions. This is fine in parks, amusement parks, Wal-Mart, McDonalds, and any store with many small children in their commercials. This is NOT FINE in small stores, movie theaters (Unless you’re seeing Disney or Pixar or something), any sort of live show, busses, crowded areas teeming with humanity, any restaurant with tablecloths and a martini list, and airplanes. If your child decides to lose its mind in one of these places, REMOVE THEM so I don’t get an unwelcome taste of your home life. ‘Under 12’ does not mean ‘can do what the fuck it pleases and be excused for it’.

Please take note.

Praise the alleged Jesus I do not have children.

Comments»

2. Kanako - January 29, 2007

hi, Brianna!

I totally agree with you! I do not like children on airplanes, either. Well, I don’t like them at many places, even Disneyland! Do you really think 6 month-old baby on the staller can actually understand and enjoy the fireworks over the Cinderella castle? They are already too tired from the whole unmeaningful but overstimulating day at the park anyway. I think parents should keep their little ones home until they can behave in public. I often travel overseas, and I really, I mean, seriously pray before boarding that there will be no children crying or runing around for the next 12 hours on my airplane.


Leave a Reply

